Eleanor Farjeon (1881 – 1965)

Flower Festival 2012:

blue and red flowersArranged by Barbara Alden and given by the Hampstead Players.

Author, poet, playwright and friend of many poets including D.H. Lawrence, Walter de la Mare, Robert Frost and Edward Thomas.    Her first book, ‘Nursery Rhymes of London’, was published in 1916, and her eventual output totalled some eighty novels, plays, poems, and books for children.

 At the beginning of ‘The Little Bookroom’, a collection of 27 stories published in 1955, she describes her favourite room in her childhood house -“this dusty room was like an untended garden.” The book led to her being awarded the Carnegie Medal that year and the following year she received the first Hans Christian Andersen International Medal.  The Children’s Book Circle present the Eleanor Farjeon Award annually in her memory.

 Her play ‘The Glass Slipper’ (re-telling the Cinderella story), was performed in Hampstead Parish Church by The Hampstead Players in 1991.

She is best remembered nowadays for writing the words for ‘Morning has Broken’

She lived and died at 20 Perrins Walk and described her hobbies as “cooking and cats.”

farjeon-large2 click once on the image

This page was last updated on July 17th, 2012.


Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Top of page